Letter to PM Stephen Harper — “Too Late for me and my family”

Mr. Harper, Ms. Aglukkaq, Dr. Michaud:

It is too late for me and my family!

We suffered for over 3 years when 33 industrial wind turbines, within a 2 km radius, were installed around our house.

The day they started our home became a house, a building, no longer a place of comfort and security. It was no longer a place where we could rest, work, relax, entertain, enjoy quiet nature sounds of birds, frogs etc. It was no longer a home because when the turbines started we became sick.

It is too late for me and my family!

My mother who was 82 at the time, had to leave this house when the turbines made her sick. She had to move to a one bedroom apartment to live by herself in order to protect her health.

It is too late for me and my family!

For over 3 years, I was diligent in contacting the Spills Action Centre, the turbine corporation, several ministries of the Ontario government to explain when the turbines disturbed us most, when they caused sleeplessness, headaches, nausea, stress beyond belief. Hundreds of emails, phone calls, letters were sent in the hope that surely we would at least be acknowledged, helped, treated like human beings, not lab rats or guinea pigs. Can you believe it? I was very wrong!!! We were not acknowledged, helped or even treated like human beings who were suffering.

It is too late for me and my family!

We left that beautiful quiet country house previously surrounded by soothing nature sounds. The countryside was transformed to a factory, an industrial waste land of noisy, sickening industrial wind turbines.

It is too late for me and my family!

Minister Aglukkaq said: “Our government is committed to protecting the health and safety of Canadian families, and this study is in response to questions from residents living near wind farms about possible health effects of low frequency noise generated by wind turbines.”

It is not right, it is actually immoral and should be illegal to subject Moms, Dads, Grandmas, Grandpas, infants, children, animals to the suffering caused by industrial wind turbines and to have them used as guinea pigs during the study which will not have results till 2014!!

Mr. Harper, how can you allow this to happen to the people you govern?

It is too late for me and my family!

You can make sure that it is not too late for so many other families in Ontario. People need to be protected with a moratorium on new turbines and a halt to the turbines making people sick now.

A personal response from you sir, from Dr. Michaud and from our Health Minister is warranted.

Leave a Reply

